Sunday, 7 February 2021

Wi-Fi Alliance

What is Wi-Fi Alliance?

Wi-Fi Alliance is formally called Wireless Ethernet Compatibility Alliance. It is a non-profit organization that promotes Wi-Fi technology and certifies Wi-Fi products for conformity to certain standards of interoperability. Not every IEEE 802.11 compliant device is submitted for certification to the Wi-Fi Alliance, sometimes because of costs associated with the certification process. Therefore the lack of the Wi-Fi logo does not necessarily imply a device is incompatible with Wi-Fi devices. The WiFi Alliance owns the Wi-Fi trademark. Manufacturers may use the trademark to brand certified products that have been tested for interoperability.

In 1999, pioneers of a new, higher-speed variant, endorsed the IEEE 802.11b specification to form the Wireless Ethernet Compatibility Alliance (WECA) and branded the new technology Wi-Fi. The headquarters of WiFi Alliance was in the United States and WECA renamed itself the Wi-Fi_Alliance in 2002, it is based in Austin, Texas. The companies that use Wi-Fi technology includes 3Com, Aironet (acquire by Cisco), Harris Semiconductor (now Intersil), Lucent (was Alcatel-Lucent, then acquired by Nokia), Nokia and Symbol Technologies (now Zebra Technologies). The key sponsors to the alliance list are Apple, Comcast, Samsung, Sony, LG, Intel, Dell, Broadcom, Cisco, Qualcomm, Motorola, Microsoft, Texas Instruments, and T-Mobile. The charter for this independent organization was to perform testing, certify interoperability of products, and promote the technology.

Also learn about Virtual LAN


Post a Comment